Independent Review Panel Nominees Being Assembled
Date: Friday September 21 2001, @06:29AM
Topic: ICANN Staff and Structure

According to the ICANN By-laws, the ICANN Board is required to "adopt policies and procedures for independent third-party review of Board actions alleged by an affected party to have violated the Corporation's articles of incorporation or bylaws." ICANN's Nominating Committee has now put out a call for comments from the Internet community regarding possible nominees to serve on such an "Independent Review Board."

Quite a while ago I wrote that "the formation of an Independent Review Panel of some kind to serve as a counterweight and check on the powers exercised by the ICANN Board of Directors is of critical significance." This is, I suggested, "not the only way to reassure the Internet community that ICANN will not act in a manner that is contrary to the best interests of that community," but it would be "an important and possibly indispensable piece of that most important puzzle."

The names that the Nominating Committee are considering are, in alphabetical order:

Zoe Baird
Luca Barbero
Anthony Bekker
Margit Brandl
Charles H. Brower, II
Daniel T. Burns
Diane Cabell
Steven Certilman
Zheng Chengsi
Rosemarie Christofolo
M. Scott Donahey
Paul Farquhar
Tamar Frankel
Michael Froomkin
Sean D. Garrison
Gabor Halmai
Linda K. Hopkins
Neil Kaplan
Theodore F. Killheffer
Michael Kirby
Houston Putnam Lowry
Michael F. McNulty
Antonio Mille
James Miller
Henry H. Perritt, Jr.
David G. Post
Julie Sebutinde
Peter Schalestock
Stephen M. Schwebel
Clive Stanbrook
Robert C. Timmons
James D. Troxell

As you can see, my own name along with fellow ICANNWatch editor Michael Froomkin) is on the list, so I will refrain from further comment. Comments can be sent to the Nominating Committee , and should be sent by 1 October 2001.

This discussion has been archived. No new comments can be posted.
Independent Review Panel Nominees Being Assembled | Log in/Create an Account | Top | 6 comments | Search Discussion
Click this button to post a comment to this story
The options below will change how the comments display
Check box to change your default comment view
The Fine Print: The following comments are owned by whoever posted them. We are not responsible for them in any way.
  • 6 replies beneath your current threshold.

  • This article comes from ICANNWatch

    The URL for this story is: