Inside ICANNWatch  
Submit Story
Lost Password
Site Messages
Top 10 Lists
Latest Comments
Search by topic

Our Mission
ICANN for Beginners
About Us
How To Use This Site
Slash Tech Info
Link to Us
Write to Us

  Useful ICANN sites  
  • ICANN itself
  • Bret Fausett's ICANN Blog
  • Internet Governance Project
  • UN Working Group on Internet Governance
  • Karl Auerbach web site
  • Müller-Maguhn home
  • UDRPinfo.com;
  • UDRPlaw.net;
  • CircleID;
  • LatinoamerICANN Project
  • ICB Tollfree News

  •   At Large Membership and Civil Society Participation in ICANN  
  • icannatlarge.com;
  • Noncommercial Users Constituency of ICANN
  • NAIS Project
  • ICANN At Large Study Committee Final Report
  • ICANN (non)Members page
  • ICANN Membership Election site

  • ICANN-Related Reading
    Browse ICANNWatch by Subject

    Ted Byfied
    - ICANN: Defending Our Precious Bodily Fluids
    - Ushering in Banality
    - ICANN! No U CANN't!
    - roving_reporter
    - DNS: A Short History and a Short Future

    David Farber
    - Overcoming ICANN (PFIR statement)

    A. Michael Froomkin
    - When We Say US™, We Mean It!
    - ICANN 2.0: Meet The New Boss
    - Habermas@ discourse.net: Toward a Critical Theory of Cyberspace
    - ICANN and Anti-Trust (with Mark Lemley)
    - Wrong Turn in Cyberspace: Using ICANN to Route Around the APA & the Constitution (html)
    - Form and Substance in Cyberspace
    - ICANN's "Uniform Dispute Resolution Policy"-- Causes and (Partial) Cures

    Milton Mueller
    - Ruling the Root
    - Success by Default: A New Profile of Domain Name Trademark Disputes under ICANN's UDRP
    - Dancing the Quango: ICANN as International Regulatory Regime
    - Goverments and Country Names: ICANN's Transformation into an Intergovernmental Regime
    - Competing DNS Roots: Creative Destruction or Just Plain Destruction?
    - Rough Justice: A Statistical Assessment of the UDRP
    - ICANN and Internet Governance

    David Post
    - Governing Cyberspace, or Where is James Madison When We Need Him?
    - The 'Unsettled Paradox': The Internet, the State, and the Consent of the Governed

    Jonathan Weinberg
    - Sitefinder and Internet Governance
    - ICANN, Internet Stability, and New Top Level Domains
    - Geeks and Greeks
    - ICANN and the Problem of Legitimacy

    Highlights of the ICANNWatch Archive
    (June 1999 - March 2001)

    This discussion has been archived. No new comments can be posted.
    ICANN Board Designates VeriSign to Retain .net | Log in/Create an Account | Top | 28 comments | Search Discussion
    Click this button to post a comment to this story
    The options below will change how the comments display
    Check box to change your default comment view
    The Fine Print: The following comments are owned by whoever posted them. We are not responsible for them in any way.
    Re:Dave Farber's ICANN Looking For "good candidate
    by Anonymous on Friday June 10 2005, @06:14AM (#15520)
    > >>> Date: Thu, 12 Feb 1998 16:30:09 -0500
    > >>> To: ip-sub-1@majordomo.pobox.com
    > >>> From: Dave Farber <farber@cis.upenn.edu>
    > >>> Subject: IP: itag announcement
    > >>>
    > >>> The Chair of the Internet Architecture Board (IAB), Brian Carpenter,
    > >>> and the Director of the Internet Assigned Numbers Authority (IANA),
    > >>> Jon Postel, jointly announce the formation of the "IANA Transition
    > >>> Advisors Group" (ITAG).
    > >>>
    > >>> The ITAG will serve as a set of senior advisors to the IANA during the
    > >>> transition to a new organization with formal status as a non-profit
    > >>> corporation with a board of directors. This group will cease to exist
    > >>> when the board of directors of the new organization has its first
    > >>> meeting. The members of the ITAG have declared themselves as not
    > >>> candidates for the initial IANA board.
    > >>>
    > >>> The ITAG will consist of 6 members. The initial members(*) are:
    > >>>
    > >>> Randy Bush - Verio
    > >>> Brian Carpenter - IBM UK
    > >>> Dave Farber - U Penn
    > >>> Geoff Huston - Telstra
    > >>> John Klensin - MCI
    > >>> Steve Wolff - Cisco
    > >>>
    > >>> * organization affiliation for identification purposes only.
    [ Reply to This | Parent ]
    the 2005 Nominating Committee
    by Anonymous on Friday June 10 2005, @06:42AM (#15523)
    The members of the 2005 Nominating Committee are: Marilyn Cade, Jean-Jacques Damlamian, Alan Davidson, Richard Draves, Jayantha Fernando (Associate Chair), Catherine Gabay, Hartmut Richard Glaser, Dr. Rainer Händel, Jeanette Hoffman, Rodney Joffe, Lars-Johan Liman, Mark McFadden, Ram Mohan, Elliot Noss, Simbo Ntiro, Adam Peake, George Sadowsky (Chair), Jose Ovidio Salgueiro, Michael Silber, Stefano Trumpy, Kiyoshi I. Tsuru, Florencio I Utreras, Frannie Wellings,
    [ Reply to This | Parent ]
    Re:Dave Farber's ICANN Looking For "good candidate
    by Anonymous on Friday June 10 2005, @06:45AM (#15524)
    ICANN's President, M. Stuart Lynn, consulted with the DNSO Names Council, PSO Protocol Council, and the chairs of the Internet Engineering Task Force, the Internet Architecture Board, and the ICANN Root Server System Advisory Committee to locate a diverse and knowledgeable group of members for the New TLD Evaluation Process Planning Task Force. The following individuals graciously agreed to serve on the Task Force, in addition to Dr. Lynn as chair:

            * Jaap Akkerhuis
            * Sebastien Bachollet
            * Marilyn S Cade
            * David R. Conrad
            * Michael Heltzer
            * Geoff Huston
            * Roberto Laorden
            * Nilda Vany Martinez Grajales
            * YJ Park

    In addition, Mr. Adrian Pinder (of the U.K. Government) served as liaison between the New TLD Evaluation Process Planning Task Force and the Governmental Advisory Committee.
    [ Reply to This | Parent ]

    Search ICANNWatch.org:

    Privacy Policy: We will not knowingly give out your personal data -- other than identifying your postings in the way you direct by setting your configuration options -- without a court order. All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all the rest © 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008 by ICANNWatch.Org. This web site was made with Slashcode, a web portal system written in perl. Slashcode is Free Software released under the GNU/GPL license.
    You can syndicate our headlines in .rdf, .rss, or .xml. Domain registration services donated by DomainRegistry.com