Inside ICANNWatch  
Submit Story
Lost Password
Site Messages
Top 10 Lists
Latest Comments
Search by topic

Our Mission
ICANN for Beginners
About Us
How To Use This Site
Slash Tech Info
Link to Us
Write to Us

  Useful ICANN sites  
  • ICANN itself
  • Bret Fausett's ICANN Blog
  • Internet Governance Project
  • UN Working Group on Internet Governance
  • Karl Auerbach web site
  • Müller-Maguhn home
  • UDRPinfo.com;
  • UDRPlaw.net;
  • CircleID;
  • LatinoamerICANN Project
  • ICB Tollfree News

  •   At Large Membership and Civil Society Participation in ICANN  
  • icannatlarge.com;
  • Noncommercial Users Constituency of ICANN
  • NAIS Project
  • ICANN At Large Study Committee Final Report
  • ICANN (non)Members page
  • ICANN Membership Election site

  • ICANN-Related Reading
    Browse ICANNWatch by Subject

    Ted Byfied
    - ICANN: Defending Our Precious Bodily Fluids
    - Ushering in Banality
    - ICANN! No U CANN't!
    - roving_reporter
    - DNS: A Short History and a Short Future

    David Farber
    - Overcoming ICANN (PFIR statement)

    A. Michael Froomkin
    - When We Say US™, We Mean It!
    - ICANN 2.0: Meet The New Boss
    - Habermas@ discourse.net: Toward a Critical Theory of Cyberspace
    - ICANN and Anti-Trust (with Mark Lemley)
    - Wrong Turn in Cyberspace: Using ICANN to Route Around the APA & the Constitution (html)
    - Form and Substance in Cyberspace
    - ICANN's "Uniform Dispute Resolution Policy"-- Causes and (Partial) Cures

    Milton Mueller
    - Ruling the Root
    - Success by Default: A New Profile of Domain Name Trademark Disputes under ICANN's UDRP
    - Dancing the Quango: ICANN as International Regulatory Regime
    - Goverments and Country Names: ICANN's Transformation into an Intergovernmental Regime
    - Competing DNS Roots: Creative Destruction or Just Plain Destruction?
    - Rough Justice: A Statistical Assessment of the UDRP
    - ICANN and Internet Governance

    David Post
    - Governing Cyberspace, or Where is James Madison When We Need Him?
    - The 'Unsettled Paradox': The Internet, the State, and the Consent of the Governed

    Jonathan Weinberg
    - Sitefinder and Internet Governance
    - ICANN, Internet Stability, and New Top Level Domains
    - Geeks and Greeks
    - ICANN and the Problem of Legitimacy

    Highlights of the ICANNWatch Archive
    (June 1999 - March 2001)

    ICANN Staff and Structure Independent Review Panel Nominees Being Assembled
    posted by DavidP on Friday September 21 2001, @06:29AM

    According to the ICANN By-laws, the ICANN Board is required to "adopt policies and procedures for independent third-party review of Board actions alleged by an affected party to have violated the Corporation's articles of incorporation or bylaws." ICANN's Nominating Committee has now put out a call for comments from the Internet community regarding possible nominees to serve on such an "Independent Review Board."

    Quite a while ago I wrote that "the formation of an Independent Review Panel of some kind to serve as a counterweight and check on the powers exercised by the ICANN Board of Directors is of critical significance." This is, I suggested, "not the only way to reassure the Internet community that ICANN will not act in a manner that is contrary to the best interests of that community," but it would be "an important and possibly indispensable piece of that most important puzzle."

    The names that the Nominating Committee are considering are, in alphabetical order:

    Zoe Baird
    Luca Barbero
    Anthony Bekker
    Margit Brandl
    Charles H. Brower, II
    Daniel T. Burns
    Diane Cabell
    Steven Certilman
    Zheng Chengsi
    Rosemarie Christofolo
    M. Scott Donahey
    Paul Farquhar
    Tamar Frankel
    Michael Froomkin
    Sean D. Garrison
    Gabor Halmai
    Linda K. Hopkins
    Neil Kaplan
    Theodore F. Killheffer
    Michael Kirby
    Houston Putnam Lowry
    Michael F. McNulty
    Antonio Mille
    James Miller
    Henry H. Perritt, Jr.
    David G. Post
    Julie Sebutinde
    Peter Schalestock
    Stephen M. Schwebel
    Clive Stanbrook
    Robert C. Timmons
    James D. Troxell

    As you can see, my own name along with fellow ICANNWatch editor Michael Froomkin) is on the list, so I will refrain from further comment. Comments can be sent to the Nominating Committee , and should be sent by 1 October 2001.

      ICANNWatch Login  


    [ Don't have an account yet? Please create one. It's not required, but as a registered user you can customize the site, post comments with your name, and accumulate reputation points ("karma") that will make your comments more visible. ]

      Related Links  
  • ICANNWatch.org
  • , and should be sent by 1 October 2001. According to the ICANN By-laws
  • call for comments from the Internet community
  • I wrote
    This discussion has been archived. No new comments can be posted.
    Independent Review Panel Nominees Being Assembled | Log in/Create an Account | Top | 6 comments | Search Discussion
    Click this button to post a comment to this story
    The options below will change how the comments display
    Check box to change your default comment view
    The Fine Print: The following comments are owned by whoever posted them. We are not responsible for them in any way.
  • 6 replies beneath your current threshold.

  • Search ICANNWatch.org:

    Privacy Policy: We will not knowingly give out your personal data -- other than identifying your postings in the way you direct by setting your configuration options -- without a court order. All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all the rest © 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008 by ICANNWatch.Org. This web site was made with Slashcode, a web portal system written in perl. Slashcode is Free Software released under the GNU/GPL license.
    You can syndicate our headlines in .rdf, .rss, or .xml. Domain registration services donated by DomainRegistry.com